## Minutes of a Meeting of the Adur District Council

# 18 May 2023

# QE2 Room, Shoreham Centre, Shoreham-by-Sea

Councillor Carol Albury	Councillor Jim Funnell
Councillor Carson Albury	Councillor Jeremy Gardner
Councillor Catherine Arnold	Councillor Jude Harvey
Councillor Robina Baine	Councillor Paul Mansfield
*Councillor Vee Barton	Councillor Steve Neocleous
Councillor Tony Bellasis	Councillor Carol O'Neal
Councillor Kevin Boram	Councillor Joe Pannell
Councillor Ann Bridges	Councillor Neil Parkin
Councillor Mandy Buxton	Councillor Julian Shinn
Councillor Lee Cowen	*Councillor Sharon Sluman
Councillor Gabe Crisp	*Councillor Deborah Stainforth
Councillor Angus Dunn	Councillor Julia Watts
Councillor Emma Evans	*Councillor Rob Wilkinson
Councillor Dan Flower	

\* = Absent

The Chairman of the Council provided a summary of their work and engagements attended over the previous year.

## C/1/23-24 Apologies for Absence

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Vee Barton, Sharon Sluman, Debs Stainforth and Rob Wilkinson.

## C/2/23-24 Election of the Chairman

**Resolved**: That Councillor Joe Pannell be elected as Chairman of the Council until the Annual meeting in 2024.

## C/3/23-24 Appointment of the Vice Chairman

**Resolved**: That Councillor Joss Loader be appointed as the Vice Chairman of the Council until the Annual Meeting in 2024.

#### C/4/23-24 Declarations of Interest

There were no declarations of interest made.

Adur Council - 18 May 202323

## C/5/23-24 Confirmation of Minutes

**Resolved**: that the minutes of the meeting of the 20 April 2023 be approved as a correct record and signed by the Chairman.

# C/6/23-24 Vote of thanks to the retiring Chairman and presentation of past Chairman's Insignia

**Resolved**: that the Council approved a vote of thanks to the retiring Chairman.

## C/7/23-24 Announcements by the Chairman or Head of Paid Service

The Chairman made the following announcements:

The Chairman informed Members that Adur District Council had been awarded the Green Council of the Year Award at the iESE Public Sector Transformation Awards 2023.

The Council won this national award for its Sussex Bay initiative!

Adur District Council had led the way in taking active steps to restore natural habitat along the Adur River through its land purchases and partnership development work - and was very active in supporting the restoration of the Sussex kelp forest.

The Sussex Bay initiative was gaining significant momentum, working with The Crown Estate, DEFRA and others to support research and unlock funding for river and marine habitat restoration all along the Sussex coast.

Mr Andrew Larner, Chief Executive of iESE, attended the meeting to present the award to the Deputy Leader, Chairman, Officers and the following Community Representatives who had been involved with the project:-

- Pete King and Alistair Whitby from the Ouse and Adur Rivers Trust
- Laura Brook from the Sussex Wildlife Trust
- Tony Benton from Shoreham District & Ornithological Society
- Di and Rob Alcroft from Wayforward

#### C/8/23-24 Items raised under urgency provisions

The Chairman announced that there were no urgent items for consideration.

#### C/9/23-24 Decision Making by Adur District Council in 2023/24

Before the Council was a report by the Director for Sustainability and Resources, a copy of which had been circulated to all members, a copy of which is attached to the signed copy of these minutes.

The report before members outlined a number of decisions required by Council to ensure that the decision making structure for 2023/24 was determined according to the Council's Constitution.

The recommendations in the report were proposed, seconded and unanimously supported.

Adur Council - 18 May 202323

#### Resolved:

- i. That the Council noted the decision making structure of the Council and the political balance of the Council as set out in paragraphs 4.1 to 4.5.
- ii. That the Council appointed to the Committees in accordance with the wishes of the Political Groups on the Council detailed in Annex B.
- iii. That the Chairs and Vice-Chairs of Committees be appointed until the Annual Meeting of the Council in 2024.
- iv. That under Council Procedure Rule 38, Council noted the appointment of the Leader of the Labour Group on the Council as the Leader of the Main Opposition.

The Chairman declared the meeting closed at 7.28 pm, having commenced at 7.00 pm

Chairman